Inspiration and a New Ornament Design

I like many of you, tend to look at something in the store or online and say, “I can make that”.  Well, that is what happened to me yesterday. I was window shopping and came across a Christmas ornament that sent my mind whirling into design land.  A simple glitter card type ornament I just knew I could make with things I already had at home.

100_5355

The original ornament from World Market

So for supplies:

  • A piece of fabric with a well-defined image.
  • Modge Podge (or the homemade version of half white school glue and half water)
  • glitter
  • tag board (I used an old shirt box)
  • ribbon for a hanger
  • and Stickles glitter

100_5354

Start by cutting your fabric image out as carefully as possible. If it is not perfect it will still be okay, the Stickles will cover it up in the end.

Modge Podge the fabric to the piece of tag board. Here is where I used a shirt box.

100_5352

Cut the tag board so it leaves about 1/4 inch around your image.

Now add another layer of the Modge Podge and while it is wet sprinkle the entire ornament with the glitter.

When everything is dry use the Stickles to outline the fabric edge. Paper punch a hole in the top and add your ribbon.

If you like you can do both sides for a complete look.

100_5353

I am sure you can do a better job than I did. But it is not bad for a first try. I have an assortment of fabric to play with as I am sure you do too.

Leave a comment